Yamaha Grizzly Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went for a good ride yesterday but hit a washout at a pretty good clip, the front dove in the rut and stopped me dead. I didn't go over the bars so I guess I wasn't going fast, just to fast for the conditions? Anyways I had a quick look at everything and everything seemed ok visually but when we got back to the cottage I noticed the right wheel seemed to be pointed to far the the right with the handle bars straight? Definately more toe out than I have ever had. The handle bars have a slight bit of play but I can't remember if it was there before or not? Any ideas what I have probably bent? I am guessing and hoping it is only the tie-rod? How do I know which one? They both look OK looking at them. Could it be anything else? Should I replace something or just get it aligned? Any tips on an alignment would be appreciated, I have never done it before and I do have a manual. Thanks.........Irv

·
Registered
1,337 Posts
Irv I did the same thing a year ago, except I went over the bars! ( I was dooing 70km/h, and stopped dead, and flew off the bars for about 30 meters!)

With mine I know I bent/recessed the A-Arms, top and bottom, a bit.

I just aligned the toe in (tie rod) and I straightened the handlebar (by standing on the floor board and pulling it up).

I know my left front wheel is about a centimeter further back than my right front wheel. Personally it has made no difference to me!!

Any way good to hear you did not get hurt!!

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
Discussion Starter #3