Yamaha Grizzly Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just purchased a new 660 S/E.I have heard a lot about the break in period.Im new to atvs but am a avid snowmobiler.How long is the break in period and what has to be done,and what are the long term effects.On all my new sleds I have always just road them hard right out of the box.I realize were talking four stroke vs. two stroke.If this break in peroid is the real deal.I wanna know!!!

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
Hey VermontGrizz, i just bought a new 05/SE Grizz myself, i asked this question too when i first bought it,everybody that replied said to follow the manual! 10 hr interval and 20 hr interval, remember it is 4 stroke and it also has 5 valves that must get seated properly before you can hammer it. I am an avid sledder as well but i have never broked one in like you have but each to there own. I am just breaking my Grizz in as we speak, just going out to an old pit and basically putting around with the odd quick burst and puting in and out of 4x4 and diff lock. I want it to last a long time with minimal of problems so i am following the manual and what everybody else is saying. Have fun.......Irv

·
Premium Member
798 Posts
Yeap have to agree with Irv on that. I know I am one of the ones that suggested to follow the manual. I have owned two stroke quads also (Banshee) that was bult by Loran Duncan himself of Duncan Racing and he sent me a two page write up on how to break in two and four stroke engines and the bottom line with bothe engines was to take it easy and make sure to let them cool off after a good 1/2 hour ride or so and repeat this a few times to let them not get real hot.

Mike

·
Registered
339 Posts