Yamaha Grizzly Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey a newbie here. I have an 06 grizz and looking to put on some 26" mudzillas but the dealer was saying anything over 27" need a clutch kit. but after looking at the mudzilla in the shop man is that tire big and heavy will i be fine on putting those on without a clutch kit? and do i run the possibility of breaking anything i do not ride rought but i do go through some good mud and trail ride.

·
Registered
701 Posts
I rode with 26" tires and did not have a clutch kit. Although I should have. It robbed a lot of low end power. There's basically two style clutch kits. One is the Dalton Clutch kit. That one is good for 26" tires. Anything over that you better off with the EPI or Highlifter outlaw clutch kit.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
is this hard to do or should i spend the $75 an hr. to have it done? one shop said all i would need is a 27mm and i could bring the secondary in to get my spring compressed and that was it.just wondering how hard it would be to get tha main nut off by hand.

·
Registered
701 Posts
From what I've heard it isn't hard to do. I think you will also need a strap wrench to hold the pully in place while you loosen the 27mm nut. I could be wrong as I haven't done it myself. Dknrnd on the forum here has a dalton kit. He should be able to shed some light.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
cool maybe he will see my ? and post. I finally got a hold of someone that was a little more help he said he could do it for way cheaper than the dealer. But i got a better understanding on why you inst clutch kit in the first place i think i am gonna just swap the tires over and take it for a spin and see what happens. and if i lose a lot of power i will go and get it done or do it myself if it is that easy. cause i have the tools except if something can not be broke by hand and needs an impact then i am screwed

·
Registered
701 Posts