Yamaha Grizzly Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What type of oil do you use in your Griz?Syn. or mineral? does anyone use syn. for their drives?

·
Premium Member
324 Posts
Hey 4x4Rod, I run Amsoil synthetic in everything. Not that I know it works but I put it in everything I own. I like fact that it stays runny in the cold for those winter start-ups and doesn't turn too watery when it gets hot. One thing I've noticed though is that it seems to be disappearing in my 05 Grizzly crankcase. Ever since I changed over from the original oil that was in it when I bought it, I have to add a little every second ride. I hope thats OK.

·
Registered
339 Posts
I have been running Amsoil for about two years now and never have had to add between changes. It seems like some Grizzlys use a little oil and some dont.

·
Registered
462 Posts
i use Yama lube,,,its what they recomend

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
I believe in synthetics all the way, it is a bit more expensive but it is far superior than conventional oils in my opinion. I use Amsoil 0w-40 in the engine and full synthetic in my diffs. Hopefully this link works for you?
http://theoildrop.server101.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php
http://motorcycleinfo.calsci.com/Oils1.html
Try both of these links, the second one is full of great info on breaking in you quad/bikes and has tons of info on oils, grease, etc........Irv

·
Registered
701 Posts
I'm with hoopharted (i just did) I use what they reccomend. Yamalube. The engineers know what works. Plus it's a tad cheaper.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I also use amsoil it is a very good product, my bike starts easier and does seem to run cooler with it.I all so use it in my trucks got an extra 2 miles to the gallon just by changing to synthetics in the diffs.

·
Registered
270 Posts