Yamaha Grizzly Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just talked to the fellow who installs the clutch kits etc, he adviced me not to drive my quad with out getting the clutch kit installed first? He says the 27" 589's will put to much stress on my clutch and could cause problems. Is this sound advice or is he being over cautious?.......Irv

·
Premium Member
786 Posts
Im no expert irv,, but I would think if you were just out doing a little putting around and some mild trail riding you would be ok,,, not too sure I would take it hill climbing or in the deep mud,, and then im not sure what the clutch would do but i would think it would be lugging the engine and might overheat,,,,, all just a guess,,,,,,, and by the way,, wal mart has digital cameras, you can go get one,,get a couple pics then take it back,,,,,, ,,,,,,, good luck,,, ,,,, ,,, ,,,,, cg

·
Registered
113 Posts
Irv, I put about 4o hours before adding the clutch. If I was climbing I just used low.

·
Premium Member
324 Posts
Irv, your not going to hurt the clutch, your just geared up a little. Put nearly 2800kms on my 27 ITP 589's and I don't even feel the need for the clutch kit. I've always had the big tires on so I really don't know how much power was lost, but with the pipe ,jetting and air box mods I still kick on stock Grizzly's bottom and top end. I still find I can do quite a bit of mudding while still in high. Try it out first and then get the clutch kit next time you decide to spend money on the Grizz.

·
Registered
339 Posts
....mud is correct you won't hurt the clutch any with the new tires. You will find yourself staying in low range for any slow riding, otherwise it will feel like it is lugging the engine. I believe other than lugging the only harm would possibly be to the belt although that would take some extreme situation to do that also.